Skip to content

A Historic Building With A New Beginning in Powhatan, VA

May 12, 2012

It was a beautiful sunny afternoon when I started out on my bike to visit Gather, a unique retail store housed in an old country store that was in operation in 1851.  When I spoke with the owner, Melissa, on the phone about writing a post on her store, she expressed concern that it was dark in the back of the store where her paintings were.  I told her I use a simple point and shoot camera. The SLR camera I recently purchased, I’m still on the learning curve and can’t use just yet.  My P&S camera’s low light pictures usually don’t turn out very well, although the “low” light situation didn’t turn out to be a problem thankfully.

Flowers in a nearby yard greeted cheerily me as I peddled my way out of the neighborhood,The present owners (Melissa and her husband) live next door in a lovely white and cream tin roof farmhouse that will be appearing in the magazine, Fresh Cottage!  They rescued the derelict old store and repurposed it as an art gallery for Melissa’s oil paintings.  On the Gather website it says they discovered the old store in much need of repair, when they were riding their bikes – their home next door came later.  The building has probably had  different owners and uses over the years.  It now has a new purpose and a new life!  I feel certain the neighbors and other Powhatan residents are grateful for the change and to see their store with a new face.  The store also has antiques, vintage and new furniture, accessories, jewelry, soaps, aromatherapy and other items, many of them hand crafted.   

I came upon this lovely old church, Mt. Sinai Baptist Church, Old Hundred Rd…

I turned into Mt. Herman Rd. and in a few minutes I was at the railroad crossing and there was the old store.  There is a pleasant little garden on the side where you can sit and eat a box lunch prepared by a chef!  Orders for lunch are called in a day or so ahead.

Here is the old store, that’s Melissa on the porch.  This structure was here before the Civil War.

I love the functioning old shutters.

Lots of things to see!  This is the original store counter from 1851.

A very old valise.These enameled wall clocks looked antique but Melissa said they are new!Americana

A wonderful mirror with a barrel for a frame!

This mirror is surrounded by a window frame.At first I thought this was an apron.  Upon closer inspection they are frilly summer table cloths!Some of Melissa’s oil paintings handsomely displayed and by the way, nicely lit by track lighting!

Bright handmade ladies cotton shirts.Darling bibs and summer outfits for toddlers.

Belts and a long summer dress for a little girl.

I liked the industrial ceiling fixture in the old kitchenFrench soap made since 1688.

Fun table ware.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

