Skip to content

What To Look For In A Camera for Macro and Still Photography

March 16, 2012
Category:Wikipedia requested photographs of ph...

Image via Wikipedia

I have been researching the best cameras for stills, macro (close-up photography) for my blog and Etsy shop.  After spending a lot of time trying to photograph my work and feeling frustrated with results that were more often than not murky, fuzzy, dark, or had a ghostly film, I began to realize it was my camera and not me.  I also noticed the color was not true even after adjustments.

I have received helpful “how to” photography tips from Donna at Funky Junk Interiors, such as using a tripod when possible and how to hold a camera still when shooting.  By the way Donna is an innovator and designer using objects that you would find in a dumpster!  She reminds me of my college days, studying “form follows function” style of design, which is simpler with less pattern, shapes born out of function. She uses wood crates, odd pieces of lumber, rusty wire, old fencing and creates beautiful, functional accessories and furniture.  She also contributes to Folk magazine and other publications.  She has helped me to “loosen up” in that area and inspired some of my recent Etsy jewelry, using copper wire, old bottle caps, rusty machine tags and leather buckles.

inspirebohemia.blogspot.com

I  understand color is not always exact in photography since differences in light and other factors are involved.  I was getting a wide range of color difference in the blues and greens.  I concluded that my inexpensive digital camera only takes sharp images in bright light, not in low light settings and I could improve on the color with another model.  Confirmation of this came through some research of my camera model on the internet.

If you have doubts about your camera, go to the search engine and just type “Review of…” and add the make and type of your camera.  The camera reviews will explain the pros and cons of your camera and will also give recommendations for top rated ones.  If you still don’t see what you are looking for narrow your search, such as “Best cameras in low light for under $250”.  You will easily find answers to most of your questions.  For some information you may have to dig a little deeper.

Close-up shot with blurred background, Honest Food.com

Close-up shot with blurred background, Honest Food.com

I could use a “point and shoot” camera since they have become more proficient in low light if that was all I needed but I need a camera that will take close-ups of the subject and blur the background.  The subject becomes the main attraction while the background fades away.  The wonderful thing about this, the same background can be used without anyone noticing!   A SLR or DSLR camera will do this task.

From → photography, slr

2 Comments
  1. Isn’t it crazy how when we are sometimes filled with doubt or unsure about things, in this case blogging, the answers just come 😉

    I am very happy to read that you will blog about what interests YOU! Your Passions ♥

    Can’t wait to see more of your work!

    God Love You ♥

Leave a Reply

